Election Information

Contact Information:
Brazosport ISD
P.O. Drawer Z
Freeport, TX 77542

Rebecca Kelley
979.730.7000
rkelley@brazosportisd.net

Current School Board Trustees:

District Trustee Term Began Term Expires Email Addresses
District 1 Joe Rinehart May 2021 May 2024 joe.rinehart@brazosportisd.net
District 2 Jerry Adkins May 2021 May 2024 jerry.adkins@brazosportisd.net
District 3 Patty Sayes May 2021 May 2024 patty.sayes@brazosportisd.net
District 4 Liz Cuellar May 2019 May 2022 elizabeth.cuellar@brazosportisd.net
District 5 Chris Dunn May 2019 May 2022 chris.dunn@brazosportisd.net
District 6 Scott Schwertner May 2020 May 2023 scott.schwertner@brazosportisd.net
District 7 Mason P. Howard May 2020 May 2023 mhoward@brazosportisd.net


Date of Election:
May 7, 2022

Candidate Eligibility Requirements
The Board of Trustees is comprised of seven single member district positions. The seven trustees, elected from separate
districts, serve staggered three-year terms. All BISD residents who meet eligibility requirements specified in Board Policy
BBA(LEGAL) may run for a position in the Board of Trustee election. Two board positions will be up for election on May 7, 2022.

***Candidate Application and Candidate Information Packets will be available beginning January 19, 2022***

To apply for a position on the ballot, please pick up a Candidate Application & Information Packet at the BISD Business Office located at 301 W. Brazoswood Dr., Clute, TX 77531.

The District will accept applications on regular business days from January 19, 2022 to February 17, 2022 between the hours of 7:45 am – 4:00 pm and on February 18, 2022 between the hours of 7:45 am – 5:00 pm.

**Applications must be received by 5:00 pm, February 18, 2022.

Helpful Information
The Texas Association of School Boards (TASB) offers a free online training video designed by experienced school board
members especially for people considering running for the school board. This video explains what to expect when serving as
a school board member. https://www.tasb.org/services/leadership-team-services/resources/for-board-candidates.aspx
Webmaster Login
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2022 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.